Restaurants, Vacation/Trip

Walking Around Kyoto Alone

My friend got an emergency call and had to drive back to Nagoya. After saying a good-bye to her, I was climbing up little paths to 清水寺(Kiyomizu-dera).

IMG_9301
Wow, this is “the KYOTO” type of scenery.

IMG_9308
I guess I wandered more than 30 minutes and finally arrived at Kiyomizu-dera. At this point, my back was killing me!

IMG_9315
清水寺 本堂(清水の舞台)
Famous Stage of Kiyomizu-dera

The popular expression “to jump off the stage at Kiyomizu” is the Japanese equivalent of the English expression “to take the plunge”. (according to Wikipedia)

IMG_9321
I walked down the hill and needed to take a break for my back pain 😦

Taking a cab to hotel, then I went out for town to get some souvenirs for my family.

I was going to have dinner at a restaurant, but too tired to find a good one. Also, it started raining, so I just bought whatever looked delicious at Depa-Chika (デパートの地下)which means food/drink section of department store, where you can usually find good food.

IMG_9322
Did I get too much???

IMG_9324
I bought alcohol and had a party alone in the hotel room 🙂

IMG_9325
淡路島産玉ねぎの和さらだ
Feel like salad
local onion tastes so fresh and sweet!

IMG_9326
アボカドと沖縄島豆腐の和さらだ
More salad

IMG_9327
鱧(Hamo, daggertooth pike conger) is in season.

IMG_9328
Package of 押し寿司(oshizushi, Kyoto style sushi)
What an art!

IMG_9331
Pressed mackerel sushi wrapped in konbu seaweed 2,430yen
I loved it. It’s expensive though.

This store was established in 1781. hey The green tea company I purchased souvenir was more than 300 years old. Wow, this is Kyoto!

いづう(Izuu)
京都大丸
075-211-8111
http://izuu.jp
$$
★★★

1 thought on “Walking Around Kyoto Alone”

Leave a Reply

